Michael Grant

Michael Grant

SwiftUI class notes 2022-01-02

Just like it says in the title, Peter Friese’s Building a To-Do List App with SwiftUI, Combine, and Firebase calls for a dive into Combine, which I haven’t studied yet.

combine harvester Seems like something I’m going to have to learn sooner or later, though. Fortunately I bought Daniel Steinberg’s A Combine Kickstart on Black Friday.

The question now is whether I want to take a 500+ -page detour before making something, when the plan for weekend coding was supposed to be to get away from tutorials and see what I can do on my own. Since I’ll be pushing and pulling data from outside my app, I’ll presumably want to use some kind of async code, but maybe I should try the new Swift async/await first instead? In which case, given that I’m not interested in using Firebase for this project either, Friese’s project may end up not being all that useful.

I’m not getting very far with just the Apple developer documentation for EventKit, so let’s see what else is out there…