Michael Grant

Michael Grant

Finder alias bug in Ventura 13.5.1

macOS Ventura 13.5.1 seems to have introduced an interesting bug in my system. After updating the OS I found that NotePlan was consistently crashing immediately on launch. I eventually traced the problem to a handful of old Finder alias files in my NP Templates folder. The aliases still work in Finder, i.e. double-clicking opens the original files in the appropriate application. If I remove the old aliases and place new ones to the same files in the Templates folder, NotePlan works fine.

I also tried sending one of the old aliases to NotePlan’s developer as an email attachment. I’m not sure if Apple Mail normally accepts alias files as attachments or if it’s trying to resolve the alias and send the original file, but in any case, dragging one of the old aliases into a compose-message window also crashes Mail.